3. PROJECT TEAM AND STEERING COMMITTEE

3. PROJECT TEAM AND STEERING COMMITTEE

A dynamic and dedicated task force was formed in response to the pressing need for effective oversight of the development, implementation, and monitoring of the Town of Highland Safety Action Plan. The committee was comprised of diverse stakeholders and community leaders, and this task force will serve as the guiding force behind realizing the collective vision for a safer, more vibrant, and inclusive Town of Highland.

3.1 PROJECT TEAM

The project team, consisting of dedicated Town officials and the consultant staff, played a pivotal role in guiding and refining the action plan at every stage of its development. Their valuable input and feedback were essential in shaping the direction and effectiveness of the plan. This collaborative effort involved multiple interactions with the steering committee and the consultant, ensuring comprehensive engagement and alignment of goals throughout the planning process. **Table 1** provides a list of project team members.

NAME	TITLE
Maria Becerra	Director of Redevelopment Commission, Town of Highland
Dan Botich	President - DEF Consulting
Shashad Gujaran	Project Manager - American Structurepoint, Inc.
Alex Crandall	Safety Analyst/Engineer - American Structurepoint, Inc.
Phil Roth	Senior Planner - American Structurepoint, Inc.
Patty Salgado	Equity Analyst/Planner - American Structurepoint, Inc.

Table 1: Town of Highland CSAP, Project Team Members

3.2 STEERING COMMITTEE

A multi-disciplinary steering committee team comprising community members was established to oversee the development of this Safety Action Plan and project implementation and monitor the progress towards achieving the Vision Zero goal. The Steering Committee's input is critical when creating a Comprehensive Safety Action Plan. The committee helped the project team identify unsafe intersections/roadways within the Town of Highland during the process. Also, the committee helped identify future infrastructure projects for the Town's future.

Throughout the project, multiple steering committee meetings were held to discuss the project's process and to review and present draft materials. Meeting minutes are in *Appendix B* for a more detailed explanation of what each steering committee meeting captured. *Table 2* provides a list of steering committee members.

NAME	TITLE
Maria Becerra	Director of Redevelopment Commission, Highland
Ralph Potesta	Police Chief, Highland
Kenneth Mika	Chief Inspector Building Commissioner, Highland
Alex Brown	Superintendent, Parks & Recreation, Highland
Mark Knesek	Public Works Director, Highland
Mark Herak	Clerk-Treasurer, Highland
Richard Garza	Local Resident (ADA Advocate)
Kendra Hernandez	Redevelopment Commission Assistant, Highland
George Georgeff	Councilman - Ward 1, Highland
Tom Black	Councilman - Ward 4, Highland
Philip Scheeringa	President - Ward 5, Highland
Doug Turich	Vice President - Ward 2, Highland
Alex Robertson	Councilman - Ward 3, Highland
Michael Pipta	Fire Chief, Highland

Table 2: Town of Highland CSAP, Steering Committee Members

