Come home to Highland!
APPLICATIONS & FORMS
ABOUT THE PROCESS
If you need to have a vehicle title checked, Highland Police have streamlined the process to make it fast and easy. Here are the details:
• Title checks are performed from
9 a.m. to noon Monday - Saturday.
• There is a $5 fee per vehicle.
• You need to bring the vehicle and
registration or title with you to the
Indiana State Police perform all title checks on salvaged vehicles.
Highland Police Department
3315 Ridge Road
Highland, IN 46322
Fax: (219) 972-5095
LICENSE PLATE VIOLATIONS
State State law requires new residents to acquire Indiana registration plates for their vehicles within 60 days (or sooner if their plates are expiring) of moving into the state. Anytime residents keep their out-of-state vehicle registrations instead of registering plates from their new address, everyone is short-changed.
Indiana distributes a portion of excise tax proceeds to municipalities and schools.
In Lake County, that distribution amounts to about $17 million each year that helps operate schools, plow and repair streets and keep streetlights operating.
Highland Police have established an aggressive campaign in which Highland residents are asked to contact the Community Resource Officer at (219) 838-1313 x 4026 to report people they believe are violating Indiana’s vehicle registration laws or file a complaint using the form below.
Possible violators may also be reported on our web site. A data base has been established. When a complaint is filed, a member of the town’s VIPS (Volunteers In Police Service) visit the location and leave an information sheet regarding Indiana’s reciprocity law and also a phone number for the owner of the vehicle to contact the Community Resource officer if they believe they are exempt. The data base is updated and if the resident does not make contact within 60 days, an officer visits the suspected violator and a citation is issued.